Questions or technical issues? Please email

CCM WebSite


Name of Work

Perle, George (1915-2009)
Woodwind Quintet No. 1



May 06, 2002

Karin Ursin, Flute
Michael Henoch, Oboe
Larry Combs, Clarinet
William Buchman, Bassoon
Gail Williams, Horn

PERLE-Woodwind Quintet No. 1 (1959)

Composed in 1959

George Perle comments on his Woodwind Quintet No. 1

Although the first of my four wind quintets was "freely" and "intuitively" conceived in a totally postdiatonic harmonic language, it is in a certain sense a "tonal" rather than an "atonal" composition, since there is an emphatic use of tone-centers, particularly in the last movement. Another characteristic concern is the simultaneous and successive juxtaposition of different proportionately-related tempi. The three movements are in the sequence fast-slow-fast, with the short and cheerful outer movements framing a serious central movement that is longer than their combined duration. A critic has described this movement as "calling to mind [Stravinsky's] Symphonies of Wind Instruments." The observation seems apt to me, though I don't believe I was yet acquainted with the Stravinsky piece when I composed it.

Performed May 6, 2002 (MCA)

Performance Audio

Play Entire Performance